Wednesday, September 13, 2023 Room 2112, David C. Briegel 8 a.m. Regular Meeting

General Business

Members of the Southwestern Michigan College Board of Trustees met on September 13, 2023 for a regularly scheduled meeting.

The meeting was convened at 8:00 a.m. by Board Chairman Tom Jerdon.

Members Present: Tom Jerdon, Todd Obren, Beth Cripe, Becky Moore, Tracy Hertsel, Skip Dyes

Members Absent: Dr. Elaine Foster

Minutes of the August 9, 2023 regular convened meeting required no changes and were placed on file.

Tracy Hertsel moved, seconded by Becky Moore, to approve the agenda. Motion passed unanimously.

Three individuals were recognized for their service at the College:

Steve Carlson was recognized for his years of service and trustee Becky Moore presented him a 5-year pin.

Kyle Schrock was recognized for his years of service and trustee Skip Dyes presented him a 5-year pin. Julie Zabriskie was recognized for her years of service and trustee Todd Obren presented her a 10-year pin.

Public Input

Robin Shipkosky was recognized to speak.

Other

The Treasurer's Report for the month ending August 31, 2023 was received and placed on file.

Dr. Odenwald gave his President's Report. Dr. Odenwald reported that 2023 fall enrollment has exceeded pre-pandemic headcount and contact hour numbers. Additionally, he noted that 17% of the contact hours are online, housing capacity is at 103.3% and there are 122 student-athletes, an increase of 5 from this time last year.

Discussion Items

Trustees reviewed the list of gifts given to the Foundation, with eleven individual donations for a grand total in the amount of \$24,975.

Action Items

Becky Moore moved, seconded by Todd Obren, to approve the Strategic Value to the Community Resolution (attachment 5A). Motion passed unanimously.

Beth Cripe moved, seconded by Becky Moore, to accept with gratitude the gifts shown in attachment 5B, with five individual donations in the amount of \$13,550. Motion passed unanimously.

Review of Follow-up Requests

No follow-up requests were made of the administration.

Adjournment

Becky Moore moved to adjourn at 8:32 a.m. Tracy Hertsel seconded. Motion passed unanimously.

Beth Cripe, Secretary

Thomas F. Jerdon, Chairman